Filleting Fishies & Monday Rock Outs

I filleted my first trout on Monday night. It’s probably something I should have known how to do long ago, but since I’m Filipino and we usually cook our fishies whole (head and all)—

Mmm... tilapia.

…I just never learned how to do it.

For my first time deboning an uncooked fish (it’s easy enough when it’s already cooked), I think I did a pretty swell job of it. I’m only writing about this because I absolutely need to share this recipe which I got from the Abs Diet for Women. It’s yummy, easy to make and most of all, it’s good for you! If you don’t want to fillet your own trout I’m sure you can ask the butcher at the market to do it for you (I was too shy/too impatient to wait so I grabbed a whole one instead).

What you need:

  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • Cornmeal
  • Parsley
  • Trout fillet
  • Green beans
  • Sliced almonds
  • A frying pan
  • A steamer

Heat about a tablespoon of olive oil in the skillet over medium heat. Cover the flesh side of the trout fillet with cornmeal and season with salt and pepper to taste. Place the trout flesh side down in skillet and cook on one side for 4 minutes, flip and cook for another 2 minutes. Plate and garnish with chopped parsley.

In a steamer, cook a cup of green beans (trimmed and cut into bite size pieces) for about 5 minutes. Toss with a teaspoon of olive oil, about 2 tablespoons of sliced almonds, and salt and pepper to taste.

And voilà… Delicioso dinner in under 10 minutes.

For you calorie counters: Calories 372, Protein 20g, Carbs 17g, Total Fat 26g, Saturated Fat 4g, Sodium 48mg, Fiber 5g.

I enjoyed it, my mom enjoyed it and so did my cousin, the self-professed “fat kid,” Abs. So if you like cooking, try it. I promise you won’t be disappointed (unless you hate fish… then sucks for you).

After we scarfed down our dinner we met up with Blue and his cousin to see Steel Panther at the House of Blues. I kept trying to figure out all night why they seemed so familiar until Blue pointed out that they used to be called Metal Skool. DUR. I used to go and see them all the time at Typhoon Saloon in San Diego. Oh the memories… only yesterday did I stand in that crowd of white chicks, short skirts and beer guts as the band spouted vulgarities and insults toward the crowd who loved every second of it. Not much has changed except they may have stepped up their antics just a bit. Or maybe I’m just shocked more now than I was back then. In any case, mucho fun and tomfoolery was had by all.

I'm obviously the blond one.

Now I have to prep my room for the arrival of my lovely and amazing German cohort who lands from NY tomorrow. Also keeping my fingers crossed that Missouri can make it into town as well. ♥

And then… GYM. I really need to find a consistent workout buddy *cough* Wifey *cough* to push me on days such as this when I feel sluggish and not at all in the mood for lifting weights and running my butt off. Gym, gym, gym. Do it, do it, do it.

K. ReadySetGo.

Side Note: I’m totally failing this month at the whole Post a Day thing. Kinda mad at myself, but life distracts (as always). I guess I’ll just have to try harder from now on. :)

Leave a Reply

