Bad Car Karma on Another Long Day

Just sent out my last work email and it’s nearly 12:30AM. Normally I wouldn’t think this such a big deal had I not started my day at 5:30AM—19 hours and still going. It’s been a while since I’ve done this to myself.

I actually started this post at 11:37PM, sitting outside of the EP office in my car just so I could use the internet connection in order to send out said work email. The files I needed to send were too big so I had to do some resizing but was quickly running out of juice on my laptop. I briefly considered opening up the office then quickly ruled it out because in all honesty, I’ve been a lot more conscious of deserted streets since the mugging and waiting on one empty corner was enough nervousness I could stand in one night. Trying to unlock a padlocked gate, then an office door to a building full of very expensive film equipment while simultaneously feeling terrified to look over my shoulder to see someone trying to grab me and beat me up again was not something I felt like dealing with. Sooo… I headed home to complete the work. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

My morning started out ok. Skipped the crack of dawn workout in hopes of putting in an evening gym session (which unfortunately did not happen) and had a cereal bar for breakfast as I ran out the door in order to pick up the director at 7am sharp. She, however, was not ready when I got there so I sat in my car for about 30min or so listening to NPR and double checking the calendar for the day. By the time she was raring to go, my battery was dead. See… this kind of thing has never happened to me before. I’ve often sat and listened to the radio, engine off with no problem starting the car when I good and ready. SO embarrassing. Yesterday I get a speeding ticket and now this.

We ended up taking her car over to the production office for the test shoots and from then on, it was an interesting day to say the least. Frustrations, people not listening, people talking over each other, whispered dramas in corners, short tempers, dizzying conversations and lots and lots of make-up. Thank the lord the model was so nice. I swear, this girl is a dream. Absolutely gorgeous but also funny, tomboyish, helpful, intelligent AND knew what I was talking about when I said I once dressed as a night elf from War Craft 3 (yes, that’s true and don’t judge me). Before you ask: Sorry, guy friends, I cannot give you her number.

Anyway, after all the craziness of the testing was over and done with and the director was content with what we had been able to accomplish, I was left to take a taxi back to my poor defunct car which my dear friend Johnny had promised to bolster back to life with the help of jumper cables. This is when waiting at a dark corner at 10pm—in an industrial, deserted area no less—and feeling that creepy sense that something awful was going to happen (though nothing did) kicked in. When the driver found me, I was so relieved I practically leapt into the cab.

Instead of heading to my car right away, I met J & lovely Lindy at La Cabana for a late dinner and a well-deserved margarita. I managed to eat 1 fish taco before I felt stuffed (a shrunken tum from not eating all day because of busy schedules will do that to a person) and unfortunately spent a majority of the dinner preparing documents for work. Even though I definitely don’t make a habit of doing that, J&L are good to me and didn’t hassle me or take offense for working at the dinner table. I know it’s rude, but in this instance, it had to be done.

After dinner they drove me back to my car and on the way there I seriously thought to myself, I bet when we get there, if I try it again, the car will start, and low and behold it did. BUT along with the miracle of a self-corrected battery… I also had another a parking ticket.

Let’s see: speeding ticket, dead battery, and now parking ticket. My luck with my car this week is seriously on the low side. Anyone with good car karma want to share the wealth? I could seriously use it.

So basically I had a very long day, still didn’t make my caloric goal (I was short about 100) and had about an hour of downtime with friends. Now it’s past 1AM and I should really stop writing this blog post, get off of iChat and go to sleep so I can wake up at 6AM and go to the gym. No, I’m not crazy. I’m just determined to do everything I want to do.

Can we add 6 more hours to everyday? Make it an even 30?

I’ll just pretend the universe said, “Yes.”

Leave a Reply

