Making Music, Counting Calories & Lazy Teenage Superheroes

I lied, no 2nd post last night. Bad Ena!

BUT… I had good reason!

After picking someone up from the airport then rushing to the gym to get in my daily workout, I moseyed over to my rockin’ friend Johnny’s apartment to finally hang out and officially meet his lovely lady, Lindy. By the time I got to his place it was 11:40pm and I was wayyy late.

So much fun though. We basically kicked back, busted out the guitars and jammed to our heart’s content. I’m determined to make Johnny start a band with me AND teach me guitar because he’s just cool like that. He attempted to teach me and Lindy (on piano) one of his new songs but my lack of guitar skills stifled me. How hot would it be though with a lady on keys, a lady on guitar and awesome to the max J on lead? SUPER HOT. Like H-A-W-T, kind of hot. Like in your face, oh-so-sexy, scorching as the sun, hot. Yeah… REALLY HOT.

We eventually had to put down the instruments and head over to another friend’s sick loft in downtown LA. Every unit seriously looks like a private eye’s office. I kind of want to bust out my 1950s outfits, knock on his door at the midnight hour with claims of a missing husband/fiancé/boyfriend/whathaveyou. I would totally want to live there if the neighborhood weren’t so shady. When we arrived there were firemen busting into his building. Kind of a hilarious coincidence.

We stayed until around 4:30 when we realized it was way past our bedtimes and headed home. Since I didn’t get back to my place until 5am, I slept in this morning. It was something kind of wonderful to lounge in bed until 11.

My brother is in town visiting from Davis so we decided to head to Barnes & Noble to get some coffee and maybe a few new books. While there I stopped by the diet and exercise section where I decided to bite the bullet and listen to my friends who keep telling me I really need to start counting calories for my workouts to be effective.

I bought two books, The Pocket Calorie Counter and the Abs Diet for Women which breaks down the proper amount of protein/fiber/etc. I should really be eating every day. I know there are sites for this like the bodybuilding.com site I mentioned a few posts ago, but I stick to things so much better if I have it in hardcopy form right in front of me. It’s harder to ignore I guess. In any case, after reading the beginnings of The Pocket Calorie Counter, I realized I’m probably eating a LOT LESS calories than I need to be (which can partly be blamed on work) which is actually hindering my ability to lose weight since my body counters the lack of caloric energy by storing more fat.

After sitting and doing all the math in my new little food journal (I love moleskin and actually writing out math equations because I’m a nerd) I need to be eating 1771.32 calories per day to maintain my weight. To lose 1 lb. a week I need to cut out 500 calories per day or work off 500 or better yet a combination of the two which means I’ll be cutting my caloric intake to about 1250 calories a day (give or take depending on my workout). I’m also starting a food journal to make sure I eat enough a day. Just thinking about my intake on Friday and Saturday, I was under 1200 on both days which is just sad.

So calorie counting. Wish me luck and here I go!

But before I do, I leave you with the Lazy Teenage Superheroes: an extremely funny & well-executed short film made by Michael Ashton for only $300. There’s cussing, vulgarity, ninjas and herpes jokes. Yeah… thank me later.

3 thoughts on “Making Music, Counting Calories & Lazy Teenage Superheroes

  1. Ena, you’re perfect as you are. I wouldn’t get too caught up in counting calories. The most important thing is where the calories are coming from. There is a difference between 500 calories from cake and from vegetables. Another good thing is to focus on portion size. A good trick is to use smaller plates because it will look like it has more food than a larger plate. Good luck!

    Your trainer in NY

  2. Gene you are my personal self-esteem booster. I swear, you say the sweetest things. Thank you! I’m really counting calories to make sure I’m eating ENOUGH. During the work week, it’s not unusual for me to go throughout the day only eating protein or snack bars and drinking coffee and water. I don’t do it on purpose, but it’s really not healthy.

    Thankfully, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth and I love my dark green veggies. I also have switched to using smaller plates as well. Thanks for the advice trainer!

    xx

  3. I am really interested to hear how this is going for you. I am of small stature, about 5’4 and 110 pounds but I have so much trouble figuring out how much I am supposed to eat each day. Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

