Tomfoolery & Fare Thee Wells

I attended my old friend’s goodbye party last night in Pomona. She’s leaving for a year to teach English in far away Korea and though I couldn’t be more proud or happier for her, it’s sad since we’ve just reconnected after all these years.

I met Nicole way back when I was still a shy and rather awkward 17-year-old starting my first year at university. I remember walking into the dorm room and seeing this small girl sit up, look at me and say—well, scream really: “Hi!!!!!” No joke, the girl compensates for her tiny stature with her loud and booming voice. She is also one of those few, genuinely goodhearted souls. She doesn’t have a mean bone in her body.

In any case, it was fun seeing the grouping of people who came to send her off: the boys surrounding the barbecue all commenting on how well the coals were lit, the people who hadn’t seen each other in a long while but who were brought together by this outrageous lady, her sweet family members… it was a very, very good time. Highlights of the night were definitely a Thailand ping-pong story courtesy Gilbert, a TJ donkey story courtesy me (don’t ask), a game of boppit, harassing people with my new video camera and of course seeing the fabulous Nicole herself. Really gonna miss that girl.

And now I’m going to nap. It’s been a rather lazy Sunday and before I go to the gym to cancel out my day’s lethargic state, I figure a bit more sluggishness won’t hurt. Nap time, gym time, book time?

Going to be radio silent for the rest of the night so see you in the daylight, kiddos.

2 thoughts on “Tomfoolery & Fare Thee Wells

  1. It was interesting how we went from goldfish, sparrow, and tiny turtle onto donkey; but I’m glad we left off there ;)

    It’s a bummer Nics is leaving, but now I’ve another blog to look forward to!

    “… the girl compensates for her tiny stature with her loud and booming voice. She is also one of those few, genuinely goodhearted souls. She doesn’t have a mean bone in her body.”

    You’ve summed her up perfectly!

Leave a Reply

