Talking Whys [Part Three]

Recap: Lost job [fail], flew to LA [mope], resolved to work in film [plan].

About 2 weeks into my internship (and 3 weeks into my “vacation”) I realized I had some big decisions to make. My family, though they’d support me no matter what, was really pushing for me to move back to the west coast. They argued that I would have more opportunities here along with an entire support system to have my back. After all, that’s why I came to visit in the first place.

I really didn’t know what to do. There were my friends and the little make-shift family I had collected while living on the east coast. There was the feeling that I had unfinished business and so much more to accomplish in NY than I already had.

So what did I do?

I locked myself in my room for a day and made a pros & cons list. I won’t bore you with those tedious details but after reading over what I’d written, I realized at the heart of everything, I loved the people… not the places. I would miss my friends—who wouldn’t miss such amazing people—but I needed and wanted to be with my family.

Looking back over the last three years, I spent a lot of time being homesick. This isn’t to say that I’m not grown up enough to be on my own, but I am grown up enough to know what I want and what I wanted at that moment more than anything was to be around family. To actually get to see my nephews grow up. To be able to grab lunch with my sister. To have time to hang out with my Pops & Ma. To be able to be there for them as they’d always been there for me.

Fact is, I can get a job (and a good one at that) ANYWHERE… but where my family goes, my soul goes with them. New York will always, always be there. And who knows… maybe in a few years I’ll move back out there, or maybe I’ll move to Spain, or Japan. What I do know for sure is that I’ll always find my way back home.

Besides, since I haven’t lived here in nearly 7 years, it’s like I’m experiencing a whole new world. I have my design business, a documentary to develop and produce as well as an internship where I get to learn editing from my bosses who are more like my friends. I’m meeting new people on the daily, discovering new areas of LA I’ve never explored before and am focused on a healthier lifestyle (over 2 weeks of no smoking, woohoo!).

So wish me a happy adventure. Maybe I’ll meet some of you along the way. If not, happy days, my friends.

3 thoughts on “Talking Whys [Part Three]

  1. Ena, you’re amazing wherever you are! And when I saw your little christmas song video with all your family I could tell you were the happiest you could be! xxxxx

  2. @david salamat xx

    @mariek Aw, thanks Chick. I am very happy here. It’s weird that it’s only been 4 months. It feels like New York was a lifetime ago.

Leave a Reply

