hungry? make some pasta.

It’s almost time for lunch, so why not a post about food.

I tried this dish a few weeks ago based solely on the fact that I happened to have zucchini, mushrooms and basil on hand. It was simple, light and most of all delicious.

Zucchini & mushroom pasta with white wine, lemon and basil sauce

I’ve never been very good at exact measurements when it comes to cooking but here’s a list of the ingredients I used. If you want to recreate this dish, you’ll have to try and do it from your own tastes. I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to go to the market so I used whatever I had in my kitchen (save the white wine which I bought from a store a block from my apartment).

Ingredients:
Olive oil (I use extra virgin)
Yellow onion (if I had shallots that night, I would have used them instead)
Garlic
Portobello mushrooms
Zucchini
Basil
Lemon juice
White wine (dry: I ended up using one that had a nuttier flavoring which I think paired well with the zucchini & mushrooms)
Parmesean
Pasta (your choice)

I started by cooking the pasta separately and removing it as soon as it was al dente. Once the pasta was cooked I drained it and ran cold water over it to keep it from sticking.

To prep for the sauce, I sliced the zucchini into thin rounds (you can do it julienned if you prefer), sliced the onion into thin rings, thinly sliced the mushrooms, and minced the garlic (thin is obviously the trend here). I then heated some olive oil in a wok (mainly because I like cooking in a wok, but a large skillet is probably the most conventional) over medium heat and added the onion and garlic until the garlic was slightly browned and the onion was limp.

Once the garlic and onion were cooked to my liking, I added the mushrooms and sautéed (maybe about 2-3 minutes), then added the zucchini until it was softened (about 5 minutes). While the zucchini was cooking I cut the basil (about 2 or so handfuls) into chiffonade (you can also do this during prep work… I just forgot). After the zucchini had softened enough, I added the white wine (about 1 cup), basil, and lemon juice (about 2 tablespoons) to the pan and let the wine reduce until the sauce had thickened a bit. Once the sauce was at a good consistency (again, this is going to depend on a person’s preference), I added about 1/4 cup of parmesan and let cook for about 2 minutes (you know it’s ready when the cheese has melted and the sauce is a bit thicker).

I then added the pasta, tossed, plated and garnished with some basil. ♥

I’m also always a fan of having a glass of the wine you used in your sauce (which is why I never buy “cooking” wines) hence the wine glass in the picture.

Sorry that I suck at giving measurements but if you guys try it, let me know how it turns out!

And now that I’m thoroughly hungry… off to grub!

2 thoughts on “hungry? make some pasta.

Leave a Reply

