Food[ie].

I’ve recently become addicted to Apartment Therapy‘s sister blog called The Kitchn. The website not only posts great recipes, but also decorative ideas for holidays, quick meals for the busy nine-to-fiver, and new product suggestions to not only make cooking easier but also—for those who enjoy the pure aesthetic of food—products to pretty-up your meals before you devour them. It also takes questions from the website’s community forums and posts them on the blog to collect answers from its readers.

I recently tried their recipe for a homemade thin crust pizza. I’ve made pizza in the past but usually via the stove top as I’ve never found a recipe that didn’t tout the benefits of using a pizza stone (I still plan on buying one eventually but until I’m making pizzas on the daily, I can’t justify the purchase). This recipe did call for a pizza stone, but I thought what the heck, it’s thin… it can’t be that bad if I don’t use one. I was right! The pizza turned out pretty well.

The recipe called for the following ingredients :

3/4 cups (6 ounces) of water
1/2 teaspoon of active-dry yeast
2 cups (10 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt

Unfortunately, I didn’t have all-purpose flour so I used bread flour instead and sifted it a few times before using it for the dough. I also minced 1 clove of garlic and added it to the mix. For sauce I kept it simple—one tablespoon of melted butter with another minced clove of garlic and spread onto the dough before baking. I baked the dough with the sauce at 500ºF for 5 minutes then took out the pizza turned it and added sliced tomatoes and basil then mozzarella, asiago and parmesan cheeses. Another 5 minutes and voilà, pizza done. I took it out, left it on a rack to cool for another 5 minutes (longest of my life) before digging in. It was delicious.

I also cooked my tried and true chicken marsala recipe over the weekend. Ang sarap naman din! I got the original recipe from AllRecipes.com a long, long time ago and since then I’ve tweeked it to make it a little less caloric.

The original recipe is as follows :

1/4 cup all-purpose flour for coating
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – pounded 1/4 inch thick
4 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1/2 cup Marsala wine
1/4 cup cooking sherry

I used bread flour again since I didn’t have all-purpose on hand and it was far too hot to go outside. I also got rid of the butter and used 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil as opposed to 4. I doubled the mushrooms and added 2 cups of marsala wine and 1 cup of cooking sherry so that I would have extra sauce for the pasta. Once the chicken was finished, I removed it from the pan and added a cornstarch slurry to thicken the sauce. I usually also sauté green beans and shallots for a side dish but I was a bit lazy. Still, it turned out pretty well.

And soon I need to buy a blender. I’d like to make pesto this week.

Oh how I love summertime cooking.

Leave a Reply

