Cupid, Sex & Spongebob.

I’m a curious person so when my friend told me she had joined OkCupid.com & suggested that I do the same I figured, why not?

Now before you skeptics come out, the site is not solely used for online dating [despite it’s cheesy name]. The best way I can describe it is that it’s like facebook for strangers with all the analyses of eharmony but without the pretentiousness & the price tag [it’s free]. Whenever you look at a person’s profile it “matches” you based on the chances that you will be a good couple, friends or enemies. So far it’s been a great way to have conversations with people that I actually have things in common with. I even had coffee with someone I met from the site the other day.

And yes, there’s a stigma against meeting people that you meet online but when I think about it, I might spend about 15 minutes talking [or yelling depending on the volume of music & crowd] to some guy at a bar—who probably really just wants to do a bit of horizontal action with me—before deciding whether or not I think he’s interesting enough to give my number to or to even continue speaking with. Whereas through the site I have a chance to correspond with them, or even chat with them [again similar to facebook], and find out much more about them than I ever would meeting a guy on a random street corner on a Saturday night. When I really think about it, both creeps and nice guys exist EVERYWHERE so why limit myself to streets of New York City when I also have the vastness of the world wide web at my fingertips?

It also doesn’t hurt that the site gives me huge boosts to my ego on the daily. A bot on the site suggested that I take a personality quiz and I am apparently a Playstation :

Random Gentle Sex Master (RGSM)

Easy to turn on. Hard to beat. You are The Playstation.

You’re a nice girl, and you have lots of sex. It’s therefore highly likely that you’re attractive, and you’re certainly outgoing & friendly. Plus, this healthy physical attitude of yours indicates deeper emotional well-being and stability. Unheard of. When guys dare to dream, they dream of you.

You don’t get attached too easily, and, to wit, you’re not necessarily looking for something long-term right now. That’s a bigger asset than you know. Though, physically speaking, you’re open to anything, you’re keeping your emotional side well-protected. This means there won’t be a lot of wreckage to clean up whenever you decide to settle down.

In the meantime, the men you share yourself with actually respect you. Like them, you enjoy sex for its own sake and don’t need any other validation for pleasure than pleasure itself. Hopefully, you have the good sense to blow off anyone who thinks less of you for that. Usually, this is the part of the description where we offer some life-correcting advice, but honestly, we can’t think of anything about you we’d change. Keep on fucking, partner.

I doubt that anyone dreams of me but it’s nice to be told that nonetheless. Oh and if you want to take it yourself, click here. You don’t have to sign up so click, click, click. But I do recommend joining the site if you’re at all interested. It’s fun, random & if you’re ever bored you can take a quiz or two that actually makes you evaluate yourself.

On a completely random & unrelated note I found out the other day that the characters of Bob & his squarepants are supposed to represent the seven deadly sins :

Patrick for Sloth, Squidward for Wrath, Sandy for Pride, Mr. Krabs for Greed, Gary for Gluttony, Plankton for Jealousy, and Spongebob for Lust.

Crrrazycakes.

4 thoughts on “Cupid, Sex & Spongebob.

  1. LMAO @ the spongebob fact! It all makes sense now!! Im curious abot the site, I think I will check it out, even though Im not on the market being in a great relationship, it doesnt hurt to meet new people and broaden my horizons…

  2. You go girl! I totally agree with you on the online – kinda – dating thing! I’ve been thinking about that too (seriously, why limit the options) and I just read about a research that indicated that mostly extrovert, social and outgoing people are doing the online dating thing. So apart from the creeps, it’s mostly fun people you can meet there!

  3. @Anna definitely check the site out. Just because you’re on it doesn’t mean you’re looking for anything more than friendship. :)

    @Marieke let me know what happens if you join! Do you remember where you read about that research? Sounds like an interesting article.

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « pamumuhay ko.

Leave a Reply

