Bake Away My Blues.

Despite my best efforts, I woke up once again with a fever. As per my doctor’s orders, I’m staying home and trying not to stress out too much over what I should be doing at work whilst I lounge around in my apartment.

Unfortunately, lounging is not a skill that I excel at so after making some ariscaldo (a Filipino rice & chicken soup) for breakfast, I had to find SOMETHING to stifle my boredom. So… I baked.

Surprised?

In my formative years, I was actually a regular Betty Crocker whipping up cupcakes, brownies, & cookies then forcing my family members to serve as my guinea pigs whenever I tried out new recipes. I had actually forgotten how therapeutic baking can be. ♥

The result : red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting.

The cake itself is dairy-free (see recipe here) though the frosting is store-bought and definitely not for those who are lactose challenged like me. [Here’s another I found that I might try another day : Red Velvet Cake with Velvet Frosting]

My roommate happened to come home just as I had finished frosting and helped me out by being my first taste tester.

She gave it her stamp of approval.

As for me, I’m still forgoing dairy as promised for Lent so scraps and soy milk will have to do (it was delicious if I may say so myself).

Now what should I busy myself with next? Oh, yeah. I’m supposed to be ‘relaxing’…

3 thoughts on “Bake Away My Blues.

Leave a Reply

