snowday.

The weather outside is frightful… & unfortunately I’ve no fire that’s delightful. Boo.

Office closed early today due to the storm that’s raged throughout the city so I spent the last few hours of sunlight cocooned in my room, wrapped in a blanket with the heater on full blast. I’ve a bit of fever so I was honestly quite grateful for the half-day since my body refused to keep pace with the tasks I wanted to complete, but it’s no matter, there’s always catch-up tomorrow.

To go along with my physical illness, I’ve also caught a bit of homesickness (surprise, surprise). I’m sure it’ll pass in a few days as it always does, but I sincerely miss the ability to hop into my car, drive the 3-hours rain or shine to my parents for a weekend of full-on pamilya warmth. This also might be a reaction to the photos my lovely sister posted the other day from the mini-family reunion we had in Virginia which celebrated the 50th wedding anniversary of my great-aunt & great uncle.

Cliché as it may sound, I really do believe in the power of love (even if I cringe whilst saying so). Seeing Auntie Nani & Uncle Thomas after so many years of laughter, tears, joys & sorrows shared together made this slightly cynical, once-betrayed, closet-romantic’s heart open up a little to the possibility of finding love like that for myself.

Ha! Who knew a snowday could make so sentimental?

& since I’m on a roll with this emotional disposition… another sad love song.

salamat, b. namimis kita.

Leave a Reply

