before sunset.

Memory is a wonderful thing if you don’t have to deal with the past.

I remember the first time I watched Before Sunset. I was about 19 years old and Sam and I were on holiday from university, sitting on his parents couch, eating Greco’s New York pizza and most likely drinking a bottle of cabernet.

The 19 year old me watched the movie fascinated by the interaction of two somewhat strangers and the ability of a film to almost perfect the image of human fragility through a seamless conversation filled with personal, political, and fantastical ideas as they walked through the streets of Paris.

Fast forward 5 years later to the me of today and I find that the film holds so much more meaning. The streets of Paris are no longer a dream, but something familiar. The neuroticism of Celine strikes a chord to the neuroses I find in my persona. The hesitant exchange between two once lovers makes me wonder where I’ll be in 9 years. With whom I might be walking with. Where I might be. Who I will be.

What I love most about this film is that it lacks gimmick. It’s easy to relate to the two people speaking on the screen, because I could imagine the same conversation occurring between myself and an old friend—perhaps minus the sexual tension.

If you’ve never had a chance to view it, please do. I don’t usually recommend many films, but this one is for the books.

* Side Note: Please don’t watch the trailer. The commentator, the music and the splicing of scenes turns an authentic film about human relationships into a cheesy, commercialized romantic drama—adjectives I would never use to describe a film such as this.

Celine: Baby, you are gonna miss that plane.
Jesse: I know.

2 thoughts on “before sunset.

  1. before sunset is actually the sequel which i much prefer to the original (before sunrise).

    i feel like the original was a bit too idealistic and hopeful while before sunset has a more realistic quality to it. still both films are definitely in my top 20. ;)

Leave a Reply

