midnight stroll.

Mes rêves évanouis.

My vanishing dreams. It’s a beautiful line, no? Though I’m beginning to think that everything sounds more beautiful in French.

The line is from a song called Complainte de la butte which I believe was originally performed by Cora Vaucaire in the 1950s. It’s been covered by several artists since then but I prefer Vaucaire’s. You would probably recognize the song from Moulin Rouge—Rufus Wainwright performed a version of the song for the film, but he excluded some of the original lyrics and changed some of the words. Most notably he changed my favorite line, mes rêves évanouis to mes rêves épanouis which completely alters the meaning. His version means ‘my flourishing dreams’… and like I said, I prefer Vaucaire’s original lyrics though I guess it’s Wainwright’s right to artistic license.

 

I had another quiet night at home. Lara and Daniel wanted to go clubbing and asked me for some suggestions so I recommended APT a rather nice and trendy lounge/dance club in the Meatpacking District that a dear friend had brought me to a few weeks ago. They invited me along but I felt like one more night of solitude would do me some good.

I was right. I ended up taking a nice midnight stroll to a place on E Houston and Crosby—the only place to get the best chai latte in all of New York City. It’s a hole-in-the-wall type spot that is frequented by taxi drivers that need to satisfy their hunger pains and caffeine fixes. And even though I’m lactose intolerant, the yumminess of the hot drink on this cold winter’s night coupled with it’s inexpensive price (it’s only $1) made the eight blocks and three New York avenues well worth leaving the comfort of my warm studio. Besides… I really love walking.

And now to snuggle into bed with my lactose intolerant stomach pains (so worth it).

Bonne nuit, mes amis! Fait de beaux rêves. ♥

Leave a Reply

