sweet sauce.

I am feeling great today.

Last night I finally met up with one of my cousins (Kuya Jeff) around midnight at some bar near my place in the East Village. It was his friend’s birthday so I was able to meet some of his popples (they were all nice… but I’m pretty sure all really, really gay) and chat with him about what’s been going on with me, with him, etc., etc. It was mucho sweet sauce hanging out with him. He did make fun of me though when he was about to order my first drink. I asked for a Long Island and apparently that would classify me as a Bridge and Tunnel (meaning outsider) and that I should never, ever, EVER order a Long Island again. Whatever, I like gin & tonics better anyway.

So I got him all caught up on my life including the Jacob business which was great because he gave me some really great insight on dealing with an ex. He was with his ex for about 8 years before finally ending it, and so he definitely had some wise things to tell me. After the first bar, he walked me back to my place and along the way pointed out all the cool restaurants and bars I should try (apparently, he lived about a block from where I live now).

Before he dropped me off at my stoop, he took me to this really cool speak easy (which isn’t really a speak easy because everyone knows about it) called PDT (Please Don’t Tell) which is hidden inside this hot dog place. You literally walk into this hole-in-the-wall hot dog joint, and into a telephone booth and dial some button to talk to the receptionist who lets you in if they have room (apparently, you usually need a reservation). Since it was 1:30am we were let in immediately. My drink was pretty awesome and I think I’ll have to make a stop over at the place again sometime in the near future. Jeff thinks I should make nice with the Asian bartender so I can always get in and maybe score some free drinks, haha.

But hanging out with him in general was really fun. Admittedly, I was a bit hesitant to hang out with him. There was a reason why I hadn’t called my cousins as soon as I got out here. I mean, I was never really close with them and figured it would be awkward hanging out, but it wasn’t which is really great. I’m actually going over to their place in Brooklyn on Sunday to cook them dinner. Hopefully, I won’t poison them so they’ll still want to hang out with me, haha.

* * *

In other news, I have a job interview tomorrow morning at 9am (yay, for actually having a reason to get up in the morning). It’s with a construction firm based in Flatiron, NY and the position will be within their marketing department. The job open is for a Marketing Assistant (the job details are sort of similar to what I did for the Bookstore). It has full benefits and would pay in the low 30s. Not ideal, but hey, at least it’s a job. If I get it, I’ll fill you guys in on all the details. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

K… gotta shower. Love love love.

Leave a Reply

